Happy Sunday everyone!  I’ve been off (the blog, not off “work”) for just a while, feeling a little overwhelmed, but also feeling a lot loved.  I’m not overwhelmed with bad stuff  though, on the contrary, it’s GREAT!!  I’ve been busy reading, conversing and following guidance, just being a leaf on the stream, and it’s good.

Those connections I’ve talked about in the past are popping and cracking and clicking all over.  Cogs are moving.  I’m starting to see the MUCH bigger picture here and it’s too big to explain.  But I’m going to write about that in a bit, this post is about feeling loved…although that’s part of the connection too – Last week I was nominated unexpectedly for the Inspired Blogger Award by a fellow Clair – http://aclairavoyantjourney.wordpress.com/ if you are interested in reading highly insightful, beautifully and straight forwardly written clairvoyant posts, check it out!  Thank you again, CG for the nod…  Here’s the award!

SO part of the responsibilities of the nomination is sharing gratitude with my nominator, sharing 7 random things about myself….and nominating 7 other blogs that inspire me.  That last one is kind of hard, because I don’t follow many blogs!  But I will follow the rules…today.  😛

7 random things you may not know about me:

I am currently putting together a garden of oversized plants so when I sit outside I can feel like Alice in Wonderland.

I never thought one way or the other about Ryan Gosling until I heard his band, Dead Man’s Bones.  Then I fell in love with his voice.  I actually wish he would stop making movies long enough to put out another album with Zach Shields.  The talkies are great, but this music is where it’s at:

I raise chickens.

I worked with world renowned skatepark designer Newline, local Skatepark builders Spa and some other local skaters to create the design for Cedar Park Skate Park in Cedar Park.   Because I’m so proud of this, I’m showing some pics:

This is the original design I came up with for the entry.  I was so happy to see that Spa had this pic on their website, I didn’t know it even existed.   I was bummed originally, since the double flip created the opportunity for advanced skaters (uh, not me) to utilize the gap, but this is how it actually was built:

Here is a pic of the whole park, the greatest contribution I think I lended is that I pushed for this park to be 3 dimensional around the sides, like a huge flow bowl that could be used all as one, which rarely happens unless you are the only one there, or kids can hit different spots if it’s busy.  Originally Newline brought this park to us as a straight style Plaza – no elevated sides, just flat.  since I worked at the skate shop I had tons of the younger skater input and knew many of the kids would not want a flat park.  I lobbied for it pretty hard, and so did the other skaters that worked on it.  Newline heard us, and worked with us to give us a phenomenal park that people come from all around to skate.  Other than the obvious things in my life, this is one of my proudest accomplishments as well as another small park in Leander – that was the first park I worked on.  Ironically after working on the parks, I stopped skateboarding nearly as much.  But this is one of the connections I’m always talking about.  The Parks director at Leander (I’ve since joined the advisory board) told me that park probably would never have gotten built without my constant cheerleading and positive attitude.  I feel so grateful to have been a part of both of these projects, and feel an overwhelming sense of pride when I go and see kids using the parks.

I’ve got a dual personality.  One one side, my spiritual side, I can see the best in a person, and be inspired and uplifted by it.  On the other side, I guess my human side, most people piss me off.  My husband told me years ago that I should just move to the hills and buy a shotgun.  That pretty much sums it up.

I don’t own a gun, but I know how to use one and my aim is pretty accurate.

And last but not least, I got kicked out of a soccer game today for yelling at the ref too much.  Only I missed the ref telling me so I didn’t even know it until another parent told me after the game.

Ok, that’s my 7 random things.  It was kind of long, but it is what it is.  Here are my 7 nominees – and they are all kind of all over the place, but well, you know.  BTW these are in no particular order – I encourage you to check them out, and if you like something, let them know, and let me know – let’s keep that connection going…..

http://www.arttherapyspot.com/

http://thedoodlehouse.com/

http://raisingable.com/

http://lesleehare.wordpress.com/

http://viewsfromthecouch.com/

http://lisagobrien.com/

Hope everyone has a great week – stay connected and be happy!  Thank you again Clairvoyant Girl for the nomination, much love!

 

