Facing the set back, acknowledging, and moving forward.  That is my lesson today.

Abraham Lincoln is my constant reminder that I can do anything I set my mind to, that no setback is too great.

Old Abe is on my mind today.

 

When I’m having it tough, hitting setbacks and feeling sorry for myself, I think of Abraham Lincoln.  Here’s why:

(I nabbed this list from School for Champions –http://www.school-for-champions.com/history/lincoln_failures.htm – if you want to learn more – there’s a little quiz at the end…thanks School for Champions!)

List of Lincoln’s failures

A common list of the failures of Abraham Lincoln (along with a few successes) is:

  • 1831 – Lost his job
  • 1832 – Defeated in run for Illinois State Legislature
  • 1833 – Failed in business
  • 1834 – Elected to Illinois State Legislature (success)
  • 1835 – Sweetheart died
  • 1836 – Had nervous breakdown
  • 1838 – Defeated in run for Illinois House Speaker
  • 1843 – Defeated in run for nomination for U.S. Congress
  • 1846 – Elected to Congress (success)
  • 1848 – Lost re-nomination
  • 1849 – Rejected for land officer position
  • 1854 – Defeated in run for U.S. Senate
  • 1856 – Defeated in run for nomination for Vice President
  • 1858 – Again defeated in run for U.S. Senate
  • 1860 – Elected President (success)

 

Then I think, HOLY CRAP!! If Abe can face adversity and do the things he did, what am I whining about?  Lincoln came about at such a pivotal time in our history, and created such an opportunity for so many people, as well as created some enemies of course, but look at everything he did based on ONE SIMPLE REASON:  HE DIDN’T GIVE UP.

He made it FREAKIN’ HAPPEN!

I’ve created a Mother/Daughter workshop and thought I had a place to hold it.  I even started advertising it, then – bump in the road.  Now I’m not sure if the location is going to work out.  Well, crap.  Time to feel sorry for myself, and if this is what I’m supposed to be doing why isn’t this working out and blah blah blah.  Did that for a few minutes.  Then picked myself up and went by another location to see if that would work.  Still hoping that one will, but if not, I’ll try someplace else.  This is what I’m supposed to be doing.  Had a conversation this morning that only reinforced that  😉 .  So, I’m going to keep going, and keep on keepin’ on and make it happen.  There are connections there waiting to be made, conversations that need to happen to make OTHER conversations happen.  The ball needs to be set in motion, all it takes is one..little…push.  I wonder where we would be if Old Abe had called it a day when he lost his bid for Legislature in 1832?  I also think of how many lessons were learned in defeat that were later applied to create future success.   Now I’m not comparing myself to Abraham Lincoln, but he was just a person too.  Woke up and went to bed every day.  It’s what he did in the hours in between getting up and laying down that made the difference to so many.  So I have to ask myself, what am I doing, and I’ll ask you….what are you?

It just takes that one little…push.  Have a FREAKIN’ PHENOMENAL DAY!

